The Petty Archives

Platter Chatter: New Tunes From Petty
By Fred Freeman
Oswego Palladium - June 2, 1987

"Let Me Up (I've Had Enough)" -- Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers. MCA. Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers consist of Petty, guitar and vocals, Mike Campbell, lead guitar, Benmont Tench, keyboards, Stan Lynch, drums, and Howie Epstein, bass guitar and vocals. The credits on this new album bear the following statement: "All instruments and voices by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers." The album may be no more than those words imply, but it's certainly no less. In fact, this is quite clearly the strongest work yet from what has been variously described as a "never-fail" band, a deceptively strong and cohesive unit with the hair-trigger sensitivity of a land mine. (Allana Nash in Stereo Review). Songs include "My Life Your World," "All Mixed Up," "Think About Me," and "The Damage You've Done."